Dissident Congress website

English County Flags

You may be aware that all 50 states of the USA have their own state flag in addition to "stars and stripes", but did you know that English counties also have flags? Certain flags such as those for Northumberland or Essex are the flags of the ancient kingdoms prior to their incorporation into England. Other flags are more modern inventions including the flag of Devon which was designed on a computer.

So why do so few people know about English county flags? The simple answer is because of lack of media coverage in a country run by a government who wants to replace county councils by huge faceless regional assemblies as part of an EU project of destroying England as a nation.

As part of the ongoing battle against regional assemblies, Dissident Congress aims to promote the flags of England's traditional counties. Displaying your county's flag shows that you support the continuation of county councils and the opposition of regional assemblies. Click on the name of a county in the table below to view its flag.

Bedfordshire Berkshire Buckinghamshire Cambridgeshire
Cheshire Cornwall Cumberland Derbyshire
Devon Dorset Durham East Sussex
Essex Gloucestershire Hampshire Herefordshire
Hertfordshire Huntingdonshire Isle of Wight Isles of Scilly
Kent Lancashire Leicestershire Lincolnshire
London Middlesex Norfolk Northamptonshire
Northumberland Nottinghamshire Oxfordshire Rutland
Shropshire Somerset Staffordshire Suffolk
Surrey Warwickshire West Midlands West Sussex
Westmorland Wiltshire Worcestershire Yorkshire

The Middlesex flag is the coat of arms of the defunct Middlesex County council on a white background. An alternative Middlesex flag is a banner of the arms of the defunct Middlesex County council.

The county of Middlesex dates from early Saxon times and its name refers to its origin as the territory of the "Middle Saxons". This region fell within the rule of the Kingdom of the East Saxons or Essex. Heralds of the time ascribed coats of arms to Kingdoms of the Anglo-Saxon Heptarchy. The arms assigned to the Kingdom of the Middle and East Saxons depicted an arrangement of three short notched swords known as seaxes. The seaxe was a weapon favoured by Anglo-Saxon warriors, and the term "Saxon" is probably derived from the word.

In 1910, Middlesex County Council applied to the College of Arms for a particular design to represent Middlesex alone and distinguish it from Essex. This was achieved with the addition of a gold Saxon crown derived from the portrait of King Athelstan on a silver penny, resulting in the The Middlesex Coat of Arms.

The Middlesex flag can be seen flying from a flagpole in Twickenham on the 16th day of May each year, which is Middlesex Day.

Frequently asked questions about English county flags.

QuestionIs the aim of Dissident Congress to see county flags flying on a regular basis?
AnswerYes. One of the central themes of Populism is localism where power and authority is transferred from central government to local government in order to make government more accountable to the people and responsive to local needs and requirements.
QuestionAre these flags official?
AnswerSome flags are definitely official although others are unofficial or adaptations of county council logos.
QuestionCan I display or fly my county's flag?
AnswerA recent change in legislation makes it legal to fly an English county flag without planning permission. The Town and Country Planning (Control of Advertisements) (England) Regulations 2007 say that one no longer needs planning permission to fly an English county flag. However, the flag must qualify as being official - defined by being accepted by the public and registered with the Flag Institute. A few flags can only be legally flown by county councils and not the general public.
QuestionI live in a unitary authority. Do flags exist for them?
AnswerThe county flags are intended to correspond to traditional geographic counties as opposed to modern administrative areas. Therefore one should use the county flag for the county that the metropolitan or unitary authority was separated from. Examples include Essex for Havering, Staffordshire for Wolverhampton, and Bedfordshire for Luton.
QuestionDo flags exist for counties in Scotland, Wales, and Ulster?
AnswerSeveral Scottish counties have their own flags. At least one flag exists for a Welsh county. Ulster doesn't appear to have any county flags unless somebody knows otherwise.
QuestionDo you sell county flags?
AnswerApart from the images on this website, Dissident Congress does not sell any flags at the moment. We wish to compile a list of companies selling English county flags. If you happen to know of any suppliers or manufacturers then please inform us.